Archaeology Never Stops – Colonial Williamsburg

By |2022-04-19T16:16:52+00:00April 4, 2022|News|0 Comments

Archaeology Never Stops: Neither rain, hail, sleet or snow, heat, bugs or more will keep the archaeologists at Colonial Williamsburg from continuing their work.

Three Locations are the focus:

Custis Square.  An early 18th-century garden site that Virginia plantation owner and statesman that John Custis IV planted.

First Baptist Church of Williamsburg. One of the earliest African American churches in the colonies, organized by free and enslaved worshipers in 1776. The excavation focuses on locating the foundations of two church buildings from 1818 and 1856.

Williamsburg’s Magazine, in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg,  is a short walk from the First Baptist Church site. Inside the walls of the Magazine, can be view the dig. Few cannonballs and musket balls had been found on the site. Constructed in 1715, this octagonal building  stored gunpowder and arms for military purposes.

For the complete article of this fascinating dig into early colonial history.

 

 

 

Leave A Comment

Go to Top